RSS Feed

Closing Time

Posted on

I don’t know what it is but my days just seem to go on forever and if I’m not careful, one day just rolls into the next without a pause.  In the past few weeks, however, it seems to have gotten worse.  I just don’t know where the time goes.  For example, it is now 1:05 am as I am writing this post.  I just got off the phone with the Cuc since we hadn’t really had a chance to talk today (and I’m suffering from a bit of stressed induced insomnia with my boards coming up and everything so sleep has been escaping me as well).

Ever since I donated my life to medicine, I seem to have lost track of time in general (even more so since I’ve begun my clinical rotations).  I don’t even know what day of the week it is most days.  I don’t watch television.  My sole purpose for the internet is to study, check e-mails, and live vicariously through the lives of non-medical school friends via Facebook (I don’t really like that last part so I usually just stick to whatever silly post my med school friends have put up – no need to remind myself of the life I’m not living).

Essentially, I live in a medical school time warp.  So by the time I’ve accomplished what I can for the day, it’s late (usually no later than midnight).  Not healthy at all, especially since this usually means not getting any more than 6 hours of sleep (if I’m lucky – during my trauma surgery rotation I was running on about 3-4 hours per night).

I’ve decided that something drastic needs to occur so that I get some semblance of normalcy back to my life.  Obviously, not sleeping is no bueno (insert here the tons of studies discussing the side effects of not getting enough sleep).   Beginning after my board exam in 3 days (eek!), I am instituting a Closing Time at 9 pm where everything shuts down no matter what.  No computer, no TV, no phone, no eating (why not cut out the late night snacking while I’m at it), nothing.

While this may seem a bit much, I truly feel like this is the only way to institute some sort of change in this case.  And let’s be honest, there aren’t many things going on at this time of night that’s gonna need your immediate attention anyway.  I’ll use the time to do something else such as reading (a paperback book) or doing a puzzle in order to wind down before bed.

I’ll let you know how it goes after the first week.  Hopefully doing this will help me regain some lost time and maintain my sanity.

About happilycb

I'm a general surgery resident and mother to a seven, going on 30, year old daughter.

What's On Your Mind?

