RSS Feed

The Longest Vacation I’ve Had in a While

Posted on

After an almost 2 year hiatus, I’ve decided to start-up my blog again.  With the fourth year of medical school around the corner, Med School Heaven (what I call fourth year) provides me with much needed time to get back to me.  Needless to say, I was completely engulfed by this monster called Medical School.  There were plenty of times where I felt like I was being digested by gastric acid in its stomach as I sloshed around, trying to hold on to anything to keep me grounded.  It has not been easy and there were many times where I just wanted to quit.  But who am I kidding, I wouldn’t quit even if I was paid to because at the end of the day, I really do enjoy what I’m doing.

So what I struggled.  I’ve come a long way and things could be way worse.  But my daughter is happy, my relationship with the Cuc is solid, and things at home are “stable.”  Third year has opened my eyes to so much about medicine and the day-to-day lives of physicians.  And I fell in love with the operating room solidifying what I knew all along – I want to be a surgeon.

What am I up to now?  I’m studying for the dreaded USMLE Step 1.  It has definitely been a test of willpower, discipline, and patience.  Nevertheless, I am on track with studying and my test is in little over a week.  I’m excited to get it done, have a little time off (5 days so very little), and start my psychiatry rotation  (there will be more about rotations and Step 1 to come).

I’m just ready to get back to me and looking forward to what the future has in store!

About happilycb

I'm a general surgery resident and mother to a seven, going on 30, year old daughter.

What's On Your Mind?

