RSS Feed

Oh, the Places You’ll Go!

Posted on

Unlike many of my medical school counterparts, I don’t do much going out (i.e. partying, bar hoping, etc.).  Being a mother and a medical school student does not afford me much extra time for shenanigans and what not.  So when I do get to go out and do something, even if it’s mild and I’m home by 10 pm, that’s a pretty good night for me.

Tonight was one of those nights.  The American Medical Women’s Association (AMWA) chapter at my school put on a mixer and a faculty couple was so kind as to host the social at their home on an island where millionaires and famous people (like Oprah) have homes.  I was so excited to take a ferry (car on a boat – wow)!  And not to mention the gorgeous scenery.  I wish I had taken pictures.  It was so invigorating to be amongst female physicians and hear them encourage you and your career choice (albeit it biased!).

I was especially impressed (and will definitely be contacting) one physician, who is our region’s AMWA president.  She is also a mother of 4, teaches organic chemistry, runs her own practice, and is an author.  Amazing!

I also got to chit-chat with the other mother from my class and discuss my potty training woes!

Overall, a very lovely evening!

About happilycb

I'm a general surgery resident and mother to a seven, going on 30, year old daughter.

What's On Your Mind?

