RSS Feed

Keeping It All In Persepective

Posted on

I just had pleasant conversation with one of my classmates as we waited in line at Starbucks (yes, I did not procrastinate and made it to school today!).  We talked about not letting ourselves get bogged down by school that we disregard our lives (because, although it may seem otherwise, medical school is not your life).  It was a conclusion I had reached last night as I studied until 1 am.  I was reminded of my undergrad days where I would study until really late or pull all nighters.  I just can’t do that any more.  I now divert my energy to Kayle.  And I wouldn’t have it any other way.

No matter what, I’m going to become a doctor, and at the end of the day, I’m still going to be Kayle’s mother.  If for one second I thought that going to school was going to harm her in any way, I wouldn’t do it.  I want her to have the chance to go for her dream career and live a happy, healthy, productive life.

And obviously, I’m managing.  I still spend time with her, and my boyfriend, and my family.  I still have time to do things I enjoy.  And yes, I can even fit a workout in my day!  So, there is no need to get so caught up in my classes.  It’s called time management:  Do what you need to do so that you have time to do what you want to do.

Now, I feel energized and ready to study (and it’s not because I had coffee – I had tea)!

About happilycb

I'm a general surgery resident and mother to a seven, going on 30, year old daughter.

What's On Your Mind?

