RSS Feed

Lazy Days or Procrastination in Disguise

Posted on

It rained today, a lot.  And what’s worst, I have to study for an exam on Monday.  It is very difficult to focus when nature is singing you a lullaby and you’ve had warm soup for dinner (yummmm!).

But as much as I’d love to blame the weather, and life, for my unproductive day, I know that I must take some most of the blame.

I’ll be the first to admit that I have a tendency to procrastinate.  It’s something I am working on.  Let’s take today, for instance.  I was up early because I had a cardiac surgery symposium to attend.  I was supposed to go to a health fair afterwards but it was cancelled due to the rain.  Awesome, more time to study!  Except for the fact that I went home (big no no) instead of driving straight to school where I could have gotten some real studying in.

Of course, when at home, I chit-chatted with the family, played with the baby, had the yummy soup I mentioned, and got sleepy.  I tried to take a nap but Kayle wouldn’t let me.  Then it was past her nap time so I tried putting her down for a nap, which she refused and instead stayed up and got extremely cranky, causing tons of trouble!  And so the day went.

Now, I’m at campus at 7:00 pm, getting ready to study instead of winding down to go home (and I’m still procrastinating because I’m writing a blog post instead of studying – I’m almost done!).

There’s probably tons of reasons why I do this (subconsciously and consciously), including that it’s just a bad habit I’ve formed.  Like any habit, it did not happen over night so it will take some time to kick, however, the fact that I realize that I do this is the first step.

My second step was actually leaving my house to study, which I should probably start doing!

About happilycb

I'm a general surgery resident and mother to a seven, going on 30, year old daughter.

What's On Your Mind?

