RSS Feed

Find Your Passion

Posted on

I can’t count how many times I’ve heard that statement this week.  My problem has always been that I love too many things. I’m interested in global health but I may want to be a surgeon and most countries don’t need a specialized surgeon, the need prevention.  But I’m also interested in prevention and primary care but I want to do cardiology.  I like talking to patients but I wouldn’t mind spending lots of time in the lab.  Ahhhhh (this is what goes on in my head all the time)!!

It is for this same reason that I’ve been having such a hard time trying to decide what I’d like to do for my capstone project.  Each student is supposed to do a project for a specific community, one that will give back to the community in some way.  I’ve changed my mind multiple times and have written up multiple proposals and while I’ve liked each idea I’ve had and thought they would be good projects, there was always just something.

So, while out to dinner with my lovely boyfriend, I was discussing my frustration with not knowing what I was truly passionate about – and then it came to me.  I thought back to when I was writing my personal statement for my medical school applications.  I worked for a cardiac heart failure study in which I spent much of my time interacting with and talking with the patients.  What affected me the most was hearing the patients’ stories and how their illness had affected them and their families as well.

So I’ve decided to do something involving the stories of the patients.  It’s something I’m really excited about doing and hope my faculty advisor thinks it is a good idea.

About happilycb

I'm a general surgery resident and mother to a seven, going on 30, year old daughter.

What's On Your Mind?

