RSS Feed

Networking

Posted on

I’ve always known that who you know is the name of the game in just about every sector, including medicine.  That was made even more apparent to me when I ran for 4 different leadership positions and did not get even one (I know my nervousness and lack of self-confidence in the moments when I had to give a speech didn’t help either but I had known some people, the outcomes may have been different).

As I watch the people who act all chummy with the professors and deans, and even watching those professors and deans themselves, I can’t help but feel that if I want to do with my career what I want (rule the world essentially – but in a way that helps people of course!), I really need to learn to talk to people I don’t know.

My whole problem is that I’m an introvert so networking doesn’t come natural to me.  I don’t know what to say, or even how to approach other people without seeming weird and awkward.

I’ve made great strides, however.  When I was younger, I wouldn’t even look at you out of fear (of what, I don’t even know).  I don’t problems talking with others, or strangers for that matter. It’s just being the one to initiate conversation (or anything for that matter) freaks me out.

There are a number of events coming up this month in which I will have to interact with others.  I most worried about the social in which I’ve got to talk to female doctors.  I’ve found some good tips, however, and am going to try them out.  I know with practice I’ll get better.

About happilycb

I'm a general surgery resident and mother to a seven, going on 30, year old daughter.

What's On Your Mind?

