RSS Feed

Weaning

Posted on

Who would have thought that I’d be writing anything about weaning at this point? Not me, that’s for sure.  Kayle is 2 and still wants to breastfeed like it is going out of style.  Well, I might be exaggerating at this point because we’ve managed to cut back quite a bit. 

Well, when I began writing this post, that is how it was.  She still wanted to feed when she got tired – around her nap time and bed time – and occasionally when she just wanted some comfort.  It was getting frustrating for me because she is very active so when feeding, she would wiggle around and try to move around which was sometimes painful.  She was still waking once in the middle of the night to feed as well.  Also, having to feed her while studying was just not working anymore.  I had started to cut back the time spent feeding, especially at bedtime but the process was taking a while.

Then I had to travel for 3 days to Atlanta, GA for the Student National Medical Association (SNMA).  It was not my plan to use it as an opportunity to make some headway with the weaning process in the beginning.  In fact, I was very worried that she would cry the entire time because she couldn’t have her milk.  Things have worked out and I am proud to say that she has had no breast milk since I left.  It was just perfect timing. I told her that because she is such a big girl, I left the milk behind and so I can’t give her anymore.

Its been hard to not feed her.  As much as I wanted to stop, I feel bad taking away something that I know she loves.  She still asks everyday, especially when she is tired.  She has been very good and understanding, however.  I can’t get over how much she has grown.

I miss my little baby but am looking forward to the many changes to come.

About happilycb

I'm a general surgery resident and mother to a seven, going on 30, year old daughter.

One response »

  1. Aw, I can imagine that it’s an emotional transition for both of you. I weaned mine at 13 months and while I was glad not to have the hassle of pumping and being the sole milk source, I did know that I would miss his “littleness” and that he is growing up every day.

    Like

    Reply

What's On Your Mind?

