RSS Feed

And the count down begins!

Posted on

In just a few short hours (11 to be exact), I will have completed my last exam of my M1 year!  That means I will officially be an M2, well almost.  Thanks to a pending remediation, my Spring Break has been spoiled (long story) but I still intend to enjoy myself as much as possible while studying so that I can “officially” be called an M2.

It’s been a crazy 7 months.  Even now as I study/write this blog entry I’m blown away by how far I’ve come in such a short amount of time.  Adjusting to this new and sometimes hectic schedule has been difficult for me, and Kayle.  I still worry about her and how she is coping with all the changes.  All I know is that I’ve really got to try my hardest to be the best I can be so that the time I miss with her and the struggles I know she sometimes has will all have been worth it.  One good thing about children is that they are resilient and I’m counting on that to help her make it through this difficult journey with me.

While it is sad to see my 1st year fly by, I am excited for the opportunities 2nd year will bring.  I now know what is expected from me as far as workload is concerned so I plan on staying on top of my work as I have been doing.  I am also looking forward to being more involved in different things at school.  I’ve reached a point where I can balance school work, home life, and extracurriculars which allows me to take part in projects and activities that I just couldn’t handle before.  I’m also looking forward to classes.  Year 2 is going to be a lot more intense than first year but I’ve got my game plan and I am ready.  I also look forward to (while with some trepidation) the new responsibilities afforded me.  I’ll learn more about diagnosing and treating which will be better than just being able to tell if something is normal or abnormal.  I did say with some trepidation, however, because more will be required of me as well.  But it comes with the territory.

Overall, if I had to sum up my Period 1 experience, it would be that I’ve had a lot of challenges, both personally and in the classroom.  I’ve had more bad moments, it seems, than good but I’ve reached the end and will be able to move on.  I had plenty of wonderful experiences and have learned a life-time full of information.  I’m ready to leave first year behind me, close that chapter, and begin a new one, fresh, revived, and ready to take it on, full force.  Nothing’s gonna stop me in period 2!

About happilycb

I'm a general surgery resident and mother to a seven, going on 30, year old daughter.

One response »

  1. YOU GO GIRL – GOD’S SPEED!

    FROM YOUR #1 FAN

    Like

    Reply

What's On Your Mind?

