RSS Feed

Back to Work

Posted on

The holiday season is officially over and it’s a bittersweet feeling to be back.  I had about 1 week and a half off which was surprisingly long (this is probably due to the fact that it’s been almost non-stop since I started classes in August).

The week has been bittersweet as well (so far anyway – I’ve only been back for 2 days).  First, the sweet.  I was nominated for secretary/treasurer of the Student National Medical Association (SNMA) and will be officially elected at the end of the week.  This is exciting for me because not only is it an organization I really want to be involved with but it also helps me meet one of the goals I had when starting medical school (obtaining 2 leadership positions – my first one was being in the academic subcommittee).  Also, I had my primary care preceptorship today, which was interesting.  Nothing out of the ordinary or particularly exciting but I understood some of the drugs my preceptor was discussing with another medical student he had with him which made me feel good (there’s nothing like the feeling you get when you actually understand what other medical personnel are talking about!).

And now for the bitter.  I debated whether or not I wanted to write about this due to the possible embarrassment but you know what?  It is what it is; a learning experience that may help someone else.  So I received an e-mail stating that I would have to re-do my Mid-course OSCE examination.  So last month, I had to conduct a full physical on a standardized patient.  Apparently, I didn’t do as well as I needed to (I got a 73 and you need at least an 80) so I will have to remediate.  Ugh!

So what happened? Not enough practice and some confusion as to what was expected of me. Oh, well; it is what it is.  I just have to make sure the knock it out of the park the second time around.

There is no time to sulk anyhow because I’ve got a pharmacology final (part 1) next Monday (and I didn’t get much studying done over the break) so it’s back to the books (and the flash cards).

About happilycb

I'm a general surgery resident and mother to a seven, going on 30, year old daughter.

One response »

  1. Greetings Doctor Mom,

    I have faith in the power that works in you. Have faith in the power source and in yourself and you will be successful.

    I am proud of you.

    Your number one fan,

    Marci

    Like

    Reply

What's On Your Mind?

