RSS Feed

Time Management

24 hours already seemed like it wasn’t enough to get everything I needed to do completed – and then came baby.  So now, I have to somehow take care of another human being and take care of myself.  That almost feels impossible sometimes.  But wait, there’s more.  On top of all that I’ve got to stay on top of medical school.

How? TIME MANAGEMENT!!

It is a skill I have never been very good at.  No matter how many to do lists I make or calendars/planners I fill out, I just can’t seem to keep my life in order.

It has become imperative for me to learn to do this now, more than ever and it is a skill that I am working on very much.

In a conversation I was having with a classmate, he mentioned how he’s streamlined his life.  He has scheduled fun time and the rest of the time is for work.  When he said that, it was like a light bulb went off in my head “ding!” (that’s the sound of the light bulb just in case you didn’t know).

What I need to do is cut out all of the fluff from my day-to-day life so that I can be both more efficient with my time and more effective.  So last night, I went on  a search for how I can do this and I came across this very useful website that essentially took you step by step on how to create a schedule (I’ve added it to the useful links page).

The basic points were:

  1. Create a semester schedule:  this will give you an overall picture of what you’ve got going on for the semester/year
  2. Create a weekly schedule: this will allow you to see what your week will be like
  3. Create a daily schedule:  each morning, create a schedule of what you need to get done that day.  This is essentially a to-do list.  prioritize each task (most important to least important) completing the most important before moving down the list.

It also has an area where you input the amount of hours spent each week on different tasks, such as watching tv, driving, in class, etc.  This helps you see how much time you actually have left over, per week, to study.  If that time does not meet the amount of time you need, something’s gotta go.

I’m going to give this a real shot and see if it helps.  Hopefully it will, otherwise, my next plan is to hire an assistant!

About happilycb

I'm a general surgery resident and mother to a seven, going on 30, year old daughter.

What's On Your Mind?

