RSS Feed

OSCEs and Rubber Duckies

So, I’ve been MIA for a while but with good reason.  I’ve been working very hard to stay on top of my school work, prepare for my third Genes, Molecules, and Cells (GMC) exam, preparing for my OSCE, and getting myself together for what will be a race to the finish, essentially, for the last 2 weeks of the month.

There’s finally a bit of a lull in my schedule, for now anyway.  So I’ve spending more time with the little one, which has been nice, especially since I feel like I’ve almost abandoned her for the last two weeks.  Who said med school wouldn’t be without sacrifices, right?

So, besides my test, which I feel really good about, I also had an OSCE today.  I cannot remember what the acronym stands for but essentially, it is a test, sort of, using a standardized patient where you are required to do, what doctors do.  In this OSCE, we had to perform a patient interview.  Overall, I think I did pretty well.  I know I forgot one step and did not get to ask all the questions I needed to just because I ran out of time.  The thing with interviewing patients is that, 1) it’s all about practice, practice, practice – That’s how your going to feel comfortable and get into the groove of things; and 2) once you start talking to the patient, the questions sort of just come to you as you go along.  I did practice somewhat, and I’m sure additional practice would have helped some more but again, I think I did pretty well.  I have to watch my recorded session online by next week so I’ll actually get to see how I did – exciting!

And to the rubber duckies.  When Kayle was younger (and by younger I mean 6- 18 months), she was in love with ducks.  I think this was partly due to the fact that quacking was the only animal sound she could imitate.  Anyway, she has a number of rubber duckies and as I sat down to write this post, she brough one over to me as she squeezed it.  Bringing the duck over from the pile of toys she had just dumped on the floor made me feel better about the amount of time we’ve been spending together.

As I was going to the OSCE, I ran into the Dean of Diversity in the elevator and she asked me how school was going and if it was what I expected.  I told her yes and no.  Yes because I expected there to be a time of adjustment and feeling stressed, but I didn’t expect it to be as much of an adjustment as it was.  And then she asked about my daughter and how she was doing and as I was telling her that she was doing good, I thought to myself how true that was.

As much as things might change and how worried we as parents get when we feel afraid that a certain change may negatively affect our children, we must remember that kids are very resilient.  I see how well Kayle’s adjusted to this change in schedule, from seeing me all day everyday to usually just a few hours in the evenings.  Seeing this not only makes me feel better about what I am trying to do but also reminds me that we, as human beings, have an immense ability to adapt to any situation, no matter how difficult.

So, for now, I will continue to adjust to this new, stress filled, but amazing journey I’ve decided to embark upon, for both myself and my daughter, and spend the time we have together hanging out and playing with rubber duckies!

About happilycb

I'm a general surgery resident and mother to a seven, going on 30, year old daughter.

What's On Your Mind?

