RSS Feed

Seeking Help

Remember those medical school applications that would ask you what you thought your weaknesses were and how you would have to rack your brain trying to figure out how to answer that question without giving the admissions committee a reason to not accept you?  Since I am no longer in any application processes, I can be now be candid.  My greatest weakness is that I just don’t like to ask for help.  I like to try and figure things out for myself, even if time doesn’t allow me that luxury.  So, instead of going to a professor for clarification or getting a tutor or just plain talking to someone, I sit there. And sit there. And sit there.  Then, by the time I realize that I should have asked for help, it’s too late.

It has even gotten to a point where I don’t even realize I need help.  I’ve just gotten into this mindset that I’m on my own and I have no one to help me.  I’m not quite sure when I started thinking this way or why, but that’s just how I’ve been for as long as I can remember.

And this same attitude has already shown up in my medical school career.  However, now that I am more aware of it, I am doing something about it.

I have sought the help of a second year student to help me with my basic science class and, surprise, surprise, it already seems to be helpful, and we’ve only meet once.

Who would’ve thought asking for help would actually get you help?  I just hope it wasn’t too late!

About happilycb

I'm a general surgery resident and mother to a seven, going on 30, year old daughter.

What's On Your Mind?

