RSS Feed

Goals

Posted on

I had a moment a few days ago where I felt like I didn’t know what to do.  I had worked so hard, for basically my entier life, trying to get into medical school and I was finally there.  Major life goal completed.  So I sat there and wondered, “What next?”  I don’t know if anyone else felt like that after getting in, or maybe it was just me.

Anyway, I decided that I would make a list of goals, both short term, ongoing, and long term, that I wanted to complete during my undergraduate medical education.

Goals:

  • obtain leadership position in at least 2 organizations
  • obtain a mentor
  • get to know at least 1 faculty member each year
  • be in the top 10% of my class (who says you can’t reach for the stars!)
  • becoming awesome at time management
  • become better in tune with myself
  • make sure to have time for my family

That’s what I’ve go thus far.  I think this list will prove useful as a guide to things I should do over the next for years.

***UPDATE:  As of 8/19, I was selected to be on the Academic Sub-Committee.  1 leadership position down, 1 more to go!  Also, I have made an appointment with my faculty advisor to look into getting a mentor, so another goal near completion.

About happilycb

I'm a general surgery resident and mother to a seven, going on 30, year old daughter.

What's On Your Mind?

