RSS Feed

Challenges

Posted on

I knew a long time ago that choosing medicine as a career would be filled with many challenges.  After becoming pregnant, my dream to become a physician never changed and I was determined to get into medical school no matter how much harder I knew it would be.

Having completed my orientation week and heard the advice of the faculty and other students, I know that my greatest challenge to begin with will be time management.  Even now I am trying to develop a plan in which I can get my work done to the best of my ability while being involved in school activities and having time to spend with my daughter.

I know for sure that most of my studying will need to take place away from home, and I want it that way so that when I am at home, I can devote my time to her.  Also, I will probably try to get things done early in the morning before classes and tie up any loose ends in the evening after she goes to sleep.  We’ll see how this plan fares out in the next few weeks.

I think another challenge will be getting everyone on some sort of schedule.  My school schedule, while pretty steady, still has its changes here and there.  Also, to be completely honest, my daughter doesn’t have the greatest schedule either.  So that is definetely a goal of mine.

What it all boils down to, however, is that if you really want something, you will work out the necessary details and just get things done.  So that’s what I plan to do; get things done.

About happilycb

I'm a general surgery resident and mother to a seven, going on 30, year old daughter.

What's On Your Mind?

