RSS Feed

Express Yourself

Posted on

This year, my school started a Medical Humanities Journal Club.  I remember when I was interviewing at another school that had the humanities as part of their curriculum and really like that.  I suppose you can call me “artistic.”  I’ve played the violin for 14 years and love the arts.  I also enjoy writing – it is an outlet for me (and I express myself better on paper than I do in person most of the time).  This is part of the reason why I started this blog.

Anyway, the journal club is taking submissions and I’ve decided to try to write something.  I take a while to really crank out something good and with school I find it very difficult to get the chunk of time need to be inspired and write.  I did, however write a poem during one of my classes (in which I was not paying attention).

There was also a writing workshop I went to today where I was able to write two more poems (one of which I will submit) and play around with some other ideas.

How do you express yourselves?  And if you have anything you’ve written, drawn, taking pictures of, I’d love to see it!

About yellowmd

My name is Colleen. I'm a third year medical student and I have a 4 year old daughter. I live at home with my family (which is a challenge in and of itself) and I'm in a long distance relationship with my boyfriend of 6 years (and father of my child), thus complicating my life even more. In my free time (when I do have any these days), I like to catch up on sleep, spend time with my daughter and boyfriend, listen to music, and catch up on my favorite shows online (since I rarely get to watch TV anymore these days).

5 responses »

  1. Well… to better express your self you have to give your subconscious a chance to think since your conscious is too busy with reality… for example… the class you weren’t paying attention too.
    You can stimulate it by various means, mostly music which gives you emotions… i see you won’t have that problem. I play the piano, but i like listening to everything that stimulate a scene.
    Best of my ideas came to me while i was jogging, my subconscious works best when i try to ignore the tiredness.

    I have printed a new fiction thriller, if you want to read some, you can download these sample chapters here in this link: http://ahamin.wordpress.com/2012/04/14/38/
    have a good read :)

    Like

    Reply
    • Yea, most of my inspirations come when I try not to think to about all the things I have going on. I really like writing short stories (though I haven’t written many in a while). Do you have any other advice? And thanks for advice you’ve already provided!

      Like

      Reply
      • you r welcome, and here are some main advice i would give to any writer:-
        read read read… and oh yeah, read… that’s the best way to acquire the good writer’s sense.
        always carry a note book, ideas are moving like fireflies, if you need to catch one, always carry a net with you, or you’ll lose them.
        organize your time of writings, and the place.
        and the most important advice… be patient, and don’t ever be hasty, take your time, read your work more than once… you have to be a stranger to your work so you would understand how the ppl reading your work would think… its the best way to know what you have written is great…
        best of wishes for you and all your beloved ones :)

        Like

  2. Kelly Stilwell

    I’m a freelance writer/blogger virtual schooling mom near Sarasota. Just write! Sometimes I write and look back and say, “wow, that’s not bad!” Other times I read my stuff and say, “that’s awful!” Either way, you get better the more you do it!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Writing has definitely been one of the ways I’ve expressed myself even from childhood. Not just with blogging, but even writing in a journal has been one of my favorite activities. I’ve been doing this since I was in 4th grade!

    I’d love to read the poems you submitted!

    Like

    Reply

What's On Your Mind?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

